Paper Towns by John Green – Abby’s Book Review

2914097Summary: via goodreads

Released: September 22, 2009

Author: John Green

Buy from: Amazon

The plot is typical and the characters were, too – teenagers in a contemporary American town, misdemeanors here and there, kissing and flirting on the side and a mystery to be solved. Good thing there were factors that made it different from other novels. Note I used the word “different” not “stand out”. Just like in his other books, he weaves characters that are real, he used words that those characters would use and he used a vocabulary that the teenage population would understand. Here, you would get a good definition of what a well adjusted teenager is. His attempt to add humor to some of the pages is a success. You will find yourself laughing. Like me, most of the time in inappropriate places and wee hours in the morning.

It’s pretty much philosophical for me. You know, the search to know oneself and others and your one true love getting lost and finding her and knowing her more through the search.

The clues to the mystery of the story were extremely interesting that you can’t help but wonder what kind of issue the main character has to be able to leave those clues. To tell you the truth, up until the end of the story, I still thought the main character was just gaga or something. She just had to do it, she just had to. I’d ask “why? why now? why here? Go back!!!!”  There was not much fulfillment when I finished the book. It was entertaining, the youth can pick up a lot from it and it was a good read but I just give it 3 out of 5 stars for the ingenious writing.

I finished this book in 2 days and it’s because I loved the plot except the ending. I could totally rewrite it but what right have I? Maybe there’s a reason why the ending was that way and not readers expect it to be. I did not get the ending I want but that’s okay otherwise, it’s like I’ve been reading something I knew already.

There are still 3 John Green books I have not read and I hope they are not as disagreeable as this one. I hate to say it but I think it’s because I’m getting old. LOL. If  I was my 16 year old self or if I was raising a teenager, it would get a 5. That being said, this is a good read for parents as well. That makes it redeem itself already.

Best,

lime green

 

 

 

 

©2013,  Abby Ofrasio. All rights reserved.

Other Books by John Green:

11870085

One thought on “Paper Towns by John Green – Abby’s Book Review

  1. Pingback: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Abby’s Book Review | Abby Ofrasio

Leave a Reply

