Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – Abby’s Book Review

fan Summary: via GoodReads

Released: September 10, 2013

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Buy from: Amazon

So this whole Young Adult novel fad became more popular the over past 2 years because of John Green. If you’ve read my reviews on his books, you’d know that I am a fan. Yes, go pinch my cheeks, I am a contemporary YA fan now. John Green recommended Rainbow Rowell to a lot of his readers and here is my first of many Rowell book reviews. Hope you enjoy it! NO SPOILERS, DON’T WORRY

 Ang kapal ng mukha ko to say “I would give Fangirl a chance” because I had a feeling that I wouldn’t like it. Shame on me because not did I only like it, I embraced it. The main character, Cath, was so relatable. Well, for me at least. She likes reading, writing, being alone, reading, writing, falling in love, reading, writing, hating her mom… and the list goes on and on. However, more than that, Fangirl was real.

Cath was a Fangirl and rightfully so. She’s a big fan of this book and she writes fan fiction for a hobby. The setting was mostly in her university where she met her roommate Reagan and Reagan’s pseudo-boyfriend, Levi (who I love, by the way). Cath and Levi develop quite a deep relationship. And with this captivating plot, you will have a hard time in putting down the book. It is pages after pages of sleepless nights, my friends.

This book may look like it’s your typical ‘socially awkward girl falling in love with the cute guy driving a truck’ thing but it’s actually much more than that. That’s something I love about contemporary YA novels like Looking for Alaska, Paper Towns and this one. They really hit home especially for those who are “coming of age” or those who are going through identity crisis.  It’s so hard to be real in a world where everybody expects you to fit in. It’s so difficult to find real connections, real emotional and mental connections with people who you can sit with and talk with and just be quiet with. I hope people understand the importance of choosing their friends carefully.

So, 5 out of 5 stars! Had funny points, sad points, angry points and definitely crazy points. And for the hopeless romantics, kilig points!  

lime green

Leave a Reply

